top of page

2016: Year-end Wrap-up

It’s time for my 2016 wrap-up. It feels a bit odd to do one since I took a 5 month hiatus from blogging. I wanted to write during that time. I thought about it. I even started. But I couldn’t pull the trigger. I couldn’t finish. Mostly because I was frustrated and down in the dumps with how things were going.

Coming off the Big Sur Marathon back at the end of April, I was feeling really strong. My hard workouts were going well. I was getting faster, stronger. But then I got injured. And then I got sick. And then I got injured. And then I got sick. And I think you can pretty much see how the spiraling began ...

The next few months continued on a roller coaster of ups and downs, reoccurring injuries, an expensive trial and error of running shoe after running shoe. My hopes of PB-ing (personal best) at the 5K and half-marathon distances in the Fall races slipped further and further away as time went on. I found myself wishing the 2016 training season to an end and being able to hit the reset button.

In reflection, I wallowed for quite a bit – and that’s a shame because I had a pretty amazing 2016. To be honest, this year has been the most consistent year of running in my life where I maintained a high level of fitness from the start to end of the year. So instead of focusing on those few tough months, I’m going to recap this year’s races with my favourite points and some pictures:

Chilly Half Marathon (21.1K): First race of the year, pretty good weather, witnessing JP’s Team in tutus (for the first time – this would not be the last) including JP

 

Around the Bay (30K): first time running this race or this distance (automatic PB right?). Vanessa and I ran the majority of the race together and had a really fun time! I was coming off a back injury but finished strong and well under my anticipated time putting me in good mental stead for the marathon. To see my GoPro video of the race, click here.

 

Big Sur International Marathon (42.2K): I ran one of the most picturesque but toughest marathons in the world with my best friend, and I finished feeling strong. What more could you want? With the support of my friends and family, I also raised $1480 for The Gatehouse, a Toronto organization that provides support, resources and advocacy on behalf of those impacted by childhood sexual abuse. For my Big Sur Marathon race recap - click here. For my race video - click here.

 

Ottawa 10K: the hottest Ottawa race weekend on record – race times were adjusted, torrential downpours, high humidity, etc. For health and safety reasons, I made sure It was a slow grind for me - the picture below is a pretty good indication of the heat. My whole family was there to cheer me on which was the highlight – too bad they got soaked. That same weekend Lanni Marchant staged her Olympic double in unbearable heat and proved to the country that she was more than capable of representing Canada in two events. For my race recap - click here.

 

Toronto Waterfront 10K: This was the inaugural Waterfront 10K race; I chased pace bunny Jean-Paul Bedard for an hour; then ran Jodie in her last kilometre. I also met Sam Roberts later that day which pretty much made the whole day a win.

 

Albion Hills (5 Peaks Trail Series): Race #1 of the weekend – first trail race of the year and first time sporting my Oiselle Team singlet! I was suffering from an injury so I ran the shorter sport 6.5K course. Really enjoyed the course and the scenery (and trying not to fall for the photographer as I flew down this hill)!

 

Beaches Jazz Half Marathon (21.1K): Race #2 of the weekend. I was in a knee brace and moving slow, but Kate Witheridge never left my side the whole race. There was an awesome JP's Team presence at this race. Shout out to Laura Walsh who raced to a new PB at the half and placed in her age category!

 

Dundas Valley (5 Peaks Trail Series): A very hot day out on the trails, but Vanessa’s birthday picnic post-race was a blast. I made her cross the finish line carrying a balloon which was my favourite part.

 

B&O Yorkville 5K: Over 20 people from my regular training group were there racing. At least 10 of them placed in their respective age categories with lots of PBs which was amazing. It reminds me how lucky I am to train with such a strong group of people every week – they make me work harder. For all the ups and downs, my time wasn't half bad ... except for that one KM split up the hill ...

 

Ginger Runner Virtual Race (2 hours): Ran around Toronto for 2 hours with Roy with the GoPro taping landmarks and having a great time. To see our geeky fun video with all the sites we saw, click here.

 

Tannenbaum 10K: friends, festive get-ups, sexy pace, brunch … what was NOT to love about this race (except the cold). AND Cathy designed the amazing medal!!

 

All this – not to mention the countless workouts with my Yonge Street Marathon group, Castle Runners, RunTOBeer (including meeting Canadian Olympian Lanni Marchant), Canada Running Series tune-up runs, City Running Tours Toronto, and meeting my Oiselle sisters at races.

However, the highlight of my running year was being a part of JP’s Team. There are no words to describe how lucky I feel to have stumbled into this community (read how). I have met some wonderful people, and beyond that, I have made some awesome friends (check out my community page for a just few). Every single person on that team has been so warm, so inviting, so accepting – it has been a thing of beauty. Highlights from JP’s Team for me this year first and foremost has simply been the camaraderie I feel at fun runs and at races. When you see someone in a JP’s Team shirt, whether you know them or you don’t (yet), you high five, and cheer them on. It feels amazing to know you are a part of something bigger and to stand together for a very important cause. Running in Jodie at the Waterfront 10K was another highlight, and then subsequently seeing her finish her first half marathon brought me to tears (to read more about Jodie’s journey, click here). To support, run with and cheer on Jean-Paul Bedard as he completed 4 marathons in a row (168.8K) was such a rare experience that I was so blessed and humbled to be a part of. JP has and will continue to do great things for the running community, and for survivors of sexual abuse and violence. Above and beyond it all, to watch the people on this team run PBs, smash their goals, but also support each other when they were down and out. The love, the hugs, the laughs, the brunches, the bacon and yes, even the wine in juice glasses – you all have a special place in my heart. I cannot wait to continue on this journey in 2017.

November and December have brought a change in attitude and focus. Having some lofty goals for 2017, I realized there was no choice but for me to get healthy, and get back to basics. Avoiding injury in the upcoming year is paramount. These two months have focused on base maintenance running, strength training with the amazing Michelle Clarke, spinning and honestly just getting out for some plain old fun runs – particularly with RunTOBeer.

Thank-you 2016 for testing me, but also for providing me with the support of an amazing community. 2017, I’m ready for you.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page